My 1990 Jdm MR2 SW20

Moderators: Administrator, Executive Members, Moderator Group

My 1990 Jdm MR2 SW20

Postby MRSEVEN » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:45 pm

My 1990 Toyota MR2 SW20

I'm starting a build thread/ log so i can record all the maintenance i've done to the car and so i can look back and remember all the good times i've had with it. I've owned quite a few Japanese imports in the past, but most of them were All-Wheel-Drive turbos. Last year i bought my first rwd car(s13 240sx) and i got hooked! Unfortunately my 240sx had some rust, and even though it was fairly minor i have no experience with bodywork/ welding (yet). I decided i would sell the 240 and look for another summer only car that was rust free! This was at the end of summer, so i picked up a cheap little miata to slide around in for the winter and once spring came i set out looking for a car. I looked at quite a few options and the MR2 seemed like the perfect fit! I was surprised at how cheap and underrated/unknown they are compared to some of the other Japanese classics.

Entry#1: Finding The Car
I gave myself 1 month to find one locally, and if nothing good came up i was going to import one from Japan. After looking at a couple of poor condition mr2s, one that was up to my standards finally popped up! It was a 1990 with 88,000kms. This was the ad on kijiji. No price listed and no information about the car.

Some photos from the first time i saw the car: