Charles' Gen-4 Swapped MR2

Moderators: Administrator, Executive Members, Moderator Group

Charles' Gen-4 Swapped MR2

Postby charlesjm » Wed Apr 02, 2014 7:43 am

Hey guys!
My name's Charles, I'm currently 19 years young from Winnipeg, Manitoba.
I'm currently a student at Red River College in Mechanical Engineering Technology. I work at Sobeys as a cashier (have since I was 15), but just got my first engineering job at Magellan Aerospace.
I've had my car for three years in June this year, and it's been quite a process to get it to where it is today.
I'm joining up here because it's another MR2 specific forum, and a Canadian one at that.

The car is a 1991 MR2 Turbo with a JDM Gen 4 3S-GTE, from a ST-215 Caldina.
The colour is the factory Steel Mist Grey; T-Top with manual steering (factory) and manual transmission (of course).
Bought it off autotrader.com for 4grand, shipped it up from California.

In the summer of 2012 my USDM Gen 2 3S-GTE (engine that came with the car) detonated and cracked the ring lands on three pistons. After looking into rebuilding the Gen 2, swapping a Gen 3 3S or a V6 into it, I decided to swap the Gen 4 JDM 3S-GTE into the car.
I chose the Gen 4 because the engines were made from 1998-2002 and were never seen in the MR2. The Gen 4 featured coil pack ignition (vs. a distributor), MAP sensor (Gen 2 had MAF), many many less vacuum lines (thank god, Gen 2 was a rats nest), but most notably more power.

A USDM Gen 2 3S-GTE is rated to have 200hp.
A JDM Gen 3 is rated to have 250.
The JDM spec Gen 4: 265.

The Gen 4 has a different turbo, head, intake manifold, cams, fuel rail, injectors, ECU, different crank, rods and pistons, a higher compression ratio and thicker cylinder walls than the Gen 2.

The mods list:
-Engine:
-Kept stock
-Stock JDM CT15b
-Stock Gen4 boost control system (15PSi)
-Tial Q 50mm BOV
-Greddy side mount intercooler
-Custom Mandrel bent intercooler piping
-KO Racing mirror polished dual fan engine lid shroud